Three-Legged spawn of Satan

I met an old flame on Tuesday night and we were sharing an ice cream cone on the way back to the car. We saw a half-starved little puppy begging for food. He promptly went back to the restaurant got some chicken, fed the dog and reported it to a blue-cross friend who promised to come and pick up the dog even though it was after-hours.

It was then that he referred to the fact that I’ve been around some interesting animals in my life (both lovely and horrible) and that I should blog about them. I promised I would.

Three-Legged spawn of Satan:

That’s what it was folks! A three-legged, fast-as-a-bullet, black and white blur, that sent my heart leaping out of my mouth every evening. Now this mutt would wait for my school bus to drop me off and then chase me all the way home. I was six and a half. Terrified!!

This went on for many weeks, until, that fateful day that I broke free of the curse. I had taken my baby brother (who was then one and a half), for a walk. We were walking on the pavement, and I was distracted for just a couple of seconds. Out of nowhere the dog had rushed my brother and had him pinned to a wrought iron gate. That was all I could take. Picking up a few stones and emboldened by the scream tearing out of my throat, I managed to chase the hound from hell for good. Whopped his ass pretty good too!

Now, I know that you blue-cross warriors are clucking your tongues and shaking your solemn heads.

Poor little handicapped doggy…

What a horrible girl!

He was just looking for some attention.

If it makes you feel any better, at least I didn’t make it any more handicapped than it already was.

If it had hurt my little brother I would’ve hunted it down and ripped its malicious little head off.

I will follow this up with sequels based on popular demand 🙂

13 comments

  1. Well Archie, my whole family is animal lover and our home has been literary a shelter for al kinds of wounded birds and animals….never the less its scary when you know a stray dog is not so friendly and can attack!
    But the best part in the post was sharing an ice-cream wid your old flame 😛

  2. SO U MET UR EXFLAME. WHAT DOES UR YFLAME THINK ABOUT IT.
    WHY NOT TRY GET UR REPLY COMMENTS BELOW OUR COMMENTS.

  3. Hilarious!
    It s the first time I paid a visit to your blog and its super cool!!
    Just as a small suggestion, please add Google friend connect up on your blog as people can follow your blog in a much easier way!

    Cheers!

  4. Rafiq: Here is their number – +91-9962 800 800

    Chriz: Three-legged or not…How’d u like a dog’s teeth on ur Heine?

    Amit: There u go! I hope you were wearing your army-issue-combat-boots that day.

    Vimmuuu: Like you have been doing for how long now?

  5. Old flames…first love… 🙂
    Well I too have a similar story. There was a dog who completely loved me but almost attacked my sis one day. He got a kich in his ribs and never came back after that.

  6. Old Flame ?? 🙂 You certainly have a lot of them it seems, Archie 🙂

    Jokes apart, I wonder how do I reach out to those wounded dogs and cats I see on my way every other day. Does the Blue Cross really take care of reaching to the stray dogs and abandoned cats too…. Next time I will try calling them, if I meet one…

    About the Three Legged, well it’s everyone’s choice… after all, self-defence and those for our caring ones is a top priority over any love towards others. 🙂

    ÇómícólógÝ

  7. can flames be old or new???? and your propensity of bumping into them or something to do with them with regular frequency… 🙂 🙂 guess things happen then….. he he he

    besides all the clucking etc

Please leave a comment. Make my day!

