Acceptance Speech of Sorts and Award nominations

Brushed teeth, checked eyes for mascara goop, sniffed underarms, adjusted pants to hide fugly mushroom top, brushed unruly hair…
Drum roll, cue awesome achievement music, oh wait I think my toast is on fire…

Dragging my feet back in front of the mirror, I pick up my hair brush and has my husband been using my hairbrush? MY hairbrush?

See why I’ve been late in thanking two lovely friends for deeming me worthy of blog awards?

First, from lyfbeckons : The Liebster Award (October 4, 2013)

Lyfbeckons was kind enough to nominate me for The Liebster Award. Lyfbeckons is a fairly new blogger.
His post titled ‘Life on the streets – A bitter reality’ is a compelling account of his interaction with a family living on the streets of Ahmedabad, India. I look forward to read more posts from him.

Image

From Priya our sugarfreesweetheart : The WordPress Family Award (October 17, 2013)

sugarfreesweetheart is a gorgeous, brilliantly illustrated food blog that is simply unique. She brings excitement, innovation and fun to food blogging. I’m thrilled to recieve her name banner – hand painted from scratch. It made my eyes well up, how did she know I was a sucker for hand written, painted, hand made stuff?!

Archie

wordpress-family-award

Now for the nominations:

1. The Liebster Award :

You can call it Favorite Blog Award, as “Liebster” is a German word for beloved, or dearest. However, there is neither competition nor a jury. And the award goes to…

Chennai Photo Walk: 

‘Home is where the heart is’ and I’ve left a big chunk of it in Chennai, India. This blog captured everyday images from around Chennai. It is special to me as it brings me a taste of home everyday. Hence this award goes to them.

Packed in India:

Absolutely adorable blog. The blog is about “Curating Indian packaging design”. It highlights unique, eco-friendly, quirky, traditional and innovative packing designs in India. Very interesting indeed.

Dorinda at Lakeside India:

Dorinda’s passion for nature, local art and culture makes her blog interesting. An expatriate couple in the Indian countryside will have faced plenty of hurdles. I like her spirit 🙂

2. The WordPress Family Award:

The wordpress family award… hmmm… I would love to turn right back and hand one to Priya. But that would be corny. I’m going to pass this award to some cherished bloggers:

Amit at Mashed Musings: 

Amit is a powerful blogger who can weave dreams and present stark reality with ease. A Gandalf of blogging, this wizard’s Open letter to all the molesters and rapists is one of my all time favorite posts. His posts can be funny too and has had me rolling with laughter.
The reason for this nomination is that Amit is my blog mentor. I can put up something totally crappy or crazy and he right there to nudge me along. Thank you Amit for being a part of my WordPress Family.

Jenna at daffodils and dishwater:

Jenna’s writes straight from the heart. It is difficult to pin this blog to a particular category. Book reviews, off beat articles and down right funny stuff. Jenna has always and I mean ALWAYS something kind to say to a fellow blogger and make you smile. You are a wonderful soul!

Jessie Veeder and The Veeder Ranch:

Daily photos from the Veeder Ranch is something to look forward to. Jessie’s blog is a wonderful way to experience the beauty of her ranch through the photos. Changing seasons, the animals and her beautiful family… it is like you already know them all (not in a creepy way).
I’ve always loved animals and this blog reminds me of what a wonderful world we live in.

Congratulations you all  ‘Beers and Cheers all around’!

If you just happen to have time to read – The Liebster Award comes with a set of questions I have to answer and make the nominees answer as well. Nominees – if you don’t answer these questions they’ll probably send dragons after you or something so…

1. What motivates you to write?

Life experiences and things that I find interesting. 

2.  Whom do you consider as your inspiration in life?

My mom, sister and more recently my father-in-law

3. What is your favorite quote or proverb?

It matters not how strait the gate, How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate: I am the captain of my soul. – Henley

4. Choose five words to describe yourself.

I haven’t the faintest idea

5. What is the most courageous thing you have ever done?

Saved my little brother from a giant four hound from hell. Roughly translates to mildly crazy three legged dog.

6. Given a wish by God, what would you ask Him?

I’d ask him to go on a road trip with my husband and I. All the other wishes are overrated.

7. Do you believe in dreams? Why or why not?

I believe in dreams because, if I don’t, then: I’ve never met the pope, flown over the amazon, had a meaningful conversation with Nelson Mandela, flown with Amelia Earhart… and that just sucks

8. Which is your favorite book and why?

That’s like asking me what my favorite flavor of ice cream is 🙂

9. Your biggest regret in Life!!

That I gave second chances to people who I knew didn’t deserve it.

10. If you have to change something in yourself, what would it be?

The need to make people happy. It makes us turn into something we are not.

10 comments

  1. And congratulations on winning all the awards!
    //I’ve never met the pope, flown over the amazon, had a meaningful conversation with Nelson Mandela, flown with Amelia Earhart
    Please tell me you are joking. 😮

    1. Hey I have weird dreams, worse still I remember them all. Nelson liked Pink Floyd and the Pope did seem to enjoy the Vanilla Latte that I brought him although I think he thought it to be “a bit plain my dear” 🙄

        1. I’ll have you know sir, that I adored his regalia and think that he would be very cold in Lady Gaga’s clothes.

          Psst: Hope my mother is not reading this. I would get the third degree. 😯

  2. Oh what a wonderful post to wake up too!! Many thanks for The WordPress Family Award 🙂 I adore this community of writers and readers. Thank you for your support and encouragement, sending the love back at ya and excited to pay it forward!

Please leave a comment. Make my day!

